What is the Create Your Canada Contest?


Create Your Canada is an opportunity for students in Don's riding to submit their ideas for a new federal law that would make Canada  -  or the world  -  a better place.

This is your chance to help guide Canada into the future you’d like to see.

By filling out the submission form, your idea will be entered in the contest.

We will select the best idea and draft it into an actual Private Member’s Bill (a real piece of federal legislation).  

We will then fly the winner(s) to Ottawa to watch as Don formally introduces their bill in the House of Commons! Flights, food and accommodation will be paid for by Don.

You will also get a great tour of Parliament, including dinner in the Parliamentary restaurant with Don, a private visit to the Parliamentary Chamber, a tour of the Senate, and we might even be able to arrange quick visits with the Speaker of the House of Commons and NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh!


Submission Guidelines


Entries can be submitted either individually or as a team of two. Only one entry per team will be considered.

Preference will be given to submissions that fall under federal jurisdiction.

To be eligible to win you must be a grade 11 or 12 student at a school in Vancouver Kingsway. This year will also be accepting submissions from students at John Oliver Secondary.

Below is the link to the submission form for the contest.  Please review and complete each section of the form.

By completing and submitting the form, you agree to allow your name and/or photo to be used in promotional materials both online, on social media, and in-print as advertisement for the contest.


Click Here To Submit Your Entry


When is the deadline?

Submissions must be received by 9 pm on Friday, March 1, 2024.


Resources for Teachers

The PDF document below helps teachers in a variety of subject areas with ideas on how to incorporate the CYC contest into their planned curriculum.

PLEASE NOTE: The submission document for the contest has been updated.  Please use the online submission form above.

Fitting CYC into your curricula


Past Winners

2023: Kaylee

Windermere Secondary School

An Act to establish a national strategy on the reduction of textile waste



2022: Chanel and Vivian

Sir Charles Tupper Secondary School

Require all federally regulated employers to make free menstrual products available at the work place.

An Act to amend the Canada Labour Code (menstrual products)



2018: Ana and Nika

Sir Charles Tupper Secondary School 

Require gender parity on the boards of directors of crown corporations and agencies. 

An Act to amend the Financial Administration Act (composition of boards of directors) 




2017: June and Gaelan

Windermere Secondary School 

Provide a tax incentive to encourage food producers, suppliers, and retailers to donate food to charities. 

An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (donations to food banks) 



2016:  Mabel and Judy

Gladstone Secondary School and Windermere Secondary School 

Establish a universal pharmacare program for Canadians. 

An Act to amend the Department of Health Act (Advisory Committee) 



2015:  Kira, Harriet and Triana

Windermere Secondary School 

National Strategy on student loan debt reduction. 

Student Debt Relief Act 



Article about the 2015 contest - O.Canada.com


2014:  Liam, Alan and Matthew

Require all pre-packaged foods to prominently display the sugar content on the front of the product. 

An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act (sugar content labelling) 



Article about the 2014 winners - iPolitics.ca


2012 Winners:  Wilson and Kaitlyn

Windermere Secondary School 

Ensure that all electronic products containing toxic substances sold in Canada are disposed of and recycled in a responsible manner. 

An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (electronic products recycling program) 




2011 Winners:  Maria and Lakshmi

Develop a national strategy to ensure that the majority of electricity in Canada comes from renewable sources, such as solar, wind, or biomass. 

National Renewable Energy Strategy Act 




2010 Winners:  


Eric Hamber Secondary School 

Provide a system of tax incentives to encourage Canadian families to lower their energy consumption. 

An Act to amend the Excise Tax Act and the Income Tax Act (extra-energy-efficient products) 



Windermere Secondary School 

Require Canada to meet the target of 0.7% of our gross national product to be used for development assistance. 

An Act to amend the Official Development Assistance Accountability Act (poverty reduction) 





Are you ready to take action?

Constituent Resources
Attend an Event
Welcome to Kingsway

Sign up for updates